Online reputation; a whole new world.

Firstly, I love that this is our first topic because it can be so broad and go in so many different directions. Reading everybody else’s blogs and seeing the way that they have interpreted and researched online reputation management has been really cool.
It’s kind of hard on which direction to take when there are so many endless possibilities, but I guess to be able to talk about this topic with genuine knowledge, I would like to talk about my own experiences and insight into online reputation.

Living in the technologically advanced world we do today and growing up with social media basically bursting at the seams, it’s really hard not to get caught up in it all. There are so many different social media platforms to create an identity on; Facebook, Twitter, Vine, Youtube, Tumblr, Instagram, the list goes on.

I actually have an account on all of the aforementioned sites, and I check them regularly, like a routine. I wake up in the morning and will check out my Facebook and Instagram feeds, see if my favourite YouTubers have uploaded any new videos and reblog a few things on Tumblr, and I’m not sure if that’s something to be embarrassed about or not.

What I think stops it from becoming embarrassing is that I don’t let it control my life, I know people whom become so obsessed with having thousands of followers on all these sites, and getting as many ‘likes’ and ‘comments’ on their posts as possible. These people will post photos or status updates at what they call ‘prime time’ meaning that is when majority of their followers or friends are online to be able to see what is posted and get the desired response from them.

Becoming Facebook or Instagram ‘famous’ is such a renowned phenomenon lately that some people have even created apps that you can download to your phone, that have ways of gaining you more followers or more likes on a photo.  This is when you know it’s gone too far.
Rather than social media being used for what it originally was created for; being able to connect with friends (real friends, not ones you met on MySpace back in your emo/scene days) and having a way to express yourself, it is now used to gain mass popularity and, for some people, to strive to be someone they actually are not in the real world.

While I believe it to be all well and good to have social media profiles and an online reputation of sorts, I mean I have about six different sites with profiles, I do believe it to be incredibly important to not let an online reputation or identity be something that defines who you. The number of likes on a photo, or the number of shares on a post does not adequately project the person you truly are, rather just a glimpse into what could or could not be the real you.

 REFERENCES

http://www.joe.ie/news/researchers-have-discovered-the-perfect-time-to-post-a-selfie-to-facebook/502171

http://www.huntoffices.com/updates/social-media-marketing-optimization/

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

